newritings

January 12, 2009

For Nevaeh: loving you and finding closure

Filed under: testimonies — newritings @ 12:48 am

Marcelle Moses, a mother and trade unionist with the National Union of Mineworkers affiliated to COSATU, uses writing as therapy to heal herself and hopefully other sisters who have experienced stillbirths. Stillbirths, defined as babies born dead during the last 12 weeks of pregnancy, are still to be systematically counted in many countries, but are estimated to run into millions. This is her story, unsolicited, and as family I know it took exceptional guts for her to write and share it. May great joy, camaderie and love find you, Marce. In solidarity. Hassen

This was written a week after the passing away of my baby girl whom I was carrying for just over 7 and 1/2 months.  Today, the 12th of January 2009, is exactly one year and yes the pain is still as fresh as ever and I still remember how I had to give birth to my stillborn baby.  I wish to thank the father for being by my side throughout this traumatic time for both of us, where I had to be in labour for one whole day before I finally delivered our stillborn baby girl.

I share this experience with family and friends as a way of saying thank you for standing by our sides during these times. A special thank you goes to the father of our baby girl and his family for the love and support. Most of all, I write this for all the women who have gone through the same experience as I and are still struggling to find closure. I hope in a small way that our story may assist them in coming to terms with their loss.

I pray that you will be able to freely let go of your little angels as well so that they too will find their resting place.

BABY NEVAEH

My special little gift from God
I prayed and hoped for a miracle.  And was overwhelmed when I was blessed with a special gift when my little Angel started her precious little life within me.

A special feeling that one cannot express entirely and a feeling only a mother knows.

I carried her for almost eight months, until she was called home to Heaven, which was her rightful home. Maybe that is why we called her Nevaeh which is Heaven spelled backwards. She shared a very special place within our hearts, which will always be treasured. But if it were my responsibility to carry baby Nevaeh for just that period so that I could prepare her for her rightful responsibilities in Heaven, then I am truly honored and grateful to have been awarded that precious Gift of carrying her and the life I shared with my baby Girl for just that brief a period.

She was our beauty and knowing how Angelic she was within me, especially during spiritual encounters, I am certain that she makes a Beautiful Angel wherever she is.  We will always love you dearly Nevaeh and will always remember the special place you filled within our hearts. We will always remember the special moments we shared with music, dancing, praying and just talking. Remember you will always be young and beautiful to us. Our first and last looks of you as well as your physical beauty are something we will remember, but we will always treasure the eight special months you brought into our lives and the times we shared with you, our special little Angel.

Love you always until we meet again.  Mummy, Shannon, the Moses and Chetty Family.

MY LITTLE ANGEL

Nevaeh you filled a very special place within my heart, for just a brief period. Brief because I would have opted for a lifetime with you. I do however respect God’s wish, so if it were his wish that my responsibility was to share your life for just this brief eight months I am truly humbled with my brief responsibility. It is however human that we sometimes never understand that we are all but just passing through, and no matter how hard it is for me to endure that even though you will always be my baby, you did not belong to me. I was the chosen one for only that brief a period. Even though it was so brief the beauty that grew within me was so special and very precious a gift indeed, which I will always Treasure.

Your briefness and your sudden leaving left an empty shell within me. I however choose to create a haven where I will fill that emptiness with all the special moments I shared with you during the most precious eight months of my life and of sharing your life with you.

Farewell my little Angel until we meet again love you dearly Mummy.

Marcelle

2 Comments »

  1. Dear MARCEL
    i THOUGHT I WOULD JUST TELL YOU WHAT A SPECIAL HUMAN BEING YOU ARE.
    i ALSO NEED TO TELL YOU THAT YOUR STRENGTH THAT HAD DURING YOUR BAD ORDEAL WAS SO POWERFUL WE COULD FEEL IT.
    Note that in all spiritual scipture when a young soul goes on its journey,it was not young it was ripe to move to another space that you and i cannot comprehend.
    to quote”there is a force,the mechics of which we do not fully understand,that seams to operate routinely in most people to protect and to foster their mental and phyicalhealth even under the most adverse conditions.The religious have applied to it the name of grace.
    We as you friends will always share in your joys and sorrows.

    regards
    mickey Padiachee

    Comment by mickey padaichee — January 13, 2009 @ 10:12 pm | Reply

  2. My goodness, this is the most courageous thing I have ever witnessed.

    You are something special, you’re probably God’s favorite – He just has to Love you!!!

    They say that a woman is way stronger than a man, and this just confirms it, it makes me wanna cry reading this.

    You the man… (Just trying to make you smile)

    I LOVE YOU!
    ***AVI***

    Comment by Avi Gungadoo — January 15, 2009 @ 8:13 am | Reply


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

