newritings

October 3, 2007

London Calling: WHY some WORKERS SHOULD NOT STAND UP ON OCTOBER 17

Filed under: opinion article — newritings @ 4:15 pm

Marks & SpencerOn my two recent visits to the UK, and in London specifically, over the last two months and both admittedly combined not longer than one working week, I was astounded by the conditions facing working people. Particularly those working in supermarkets, bookshops and pharmacies. Here my experience was with Marks & Spencer, Boots, and Blackwell bookshops.

The cashiers were all standing. I was astounded. I asked the one Ghanaian origin new slave at Marks & Spencer: “Hey bro, why don’t you sit?” He laughed and said that he sits after work. All the working time – 7 hours I believe – STANDING STILL behind a cashier. I further asked, if they had union representation, he laughed off my question.

At another time we were seeking Ha-Joon Chang‘s Kicking Away the Ladder, as we have on an earlier visit bought his latest book Bad Samaritans. And bookshop after big bookstore they were standing. When visiting the Boots for cosmetics I teased an Asian worker there: “someone stole your chair!” He was cool and replied that “we never had chairs, it was like this when I began working here.” Thus, it was clear that this was a condition of employment and was – I thought – underwritten by a belief by the bosses that commercial and catering workers are more productive when they are standing.

I was concerned that the strong union movement, led by the Trade Union Congress that I had known over the decades, may be fading. But I was equally concerned that this was not an issue for the National Union of Students, Oxfam, and Action Aid, who are seemingly silent on this basic violation of worker and human rights. I was aware of the irony that whilst we are campaigning for the world community to “Stand Up and Speak Out” against poverty in terms of the Global Call to Action against Poverty and supported by the United Nations and other UN agencies, here workers were standing all day whilst their rights were being trampled. Most of the workers were either old or new immigrant communities and almost all I saw wore my skin – dozed with a lot of healthy melanin.

The highlight of the Stand UP Campaign is the 16 and 17 October – the latter being the UN recognized International Day for the Eradication of Poverty. Last year over 23 million people stood up and broke into the Guinness World Records for the most number of people standing for such a progressive cause. In part the Stand Up is aimed at creating awareness of the Millennium Development Goals – and to create awareness on the powers that be, corporates and governments, to do more to create a justice based society.

I wondered whether the unions could not take this as a dispute to the International Labour Organisation or whether civil society should not join with the union and the TUC. A labour lawyer in South Africa volunteered to do a class case for UK workers – won’t that be a good case of solidarity?! One small way we can help these workers Stand Up for their rights is by offering them a seat…

2 Comments »

  1. Marks and Spencer is a very good company and looks after their staff very well. They will NOT be standing up for 7 hours a day because they have a switch around every hour to give the staff a sit down on their roll-a-belt checkouts.

    Comment by Thomas Wilson — January 5, 2008 @ 4:39 pm | Reply

  2. I find this article is interesting and it highlights something many people may not have noticed, however I do find it a little short sighted and verging on the racist…
    “all I saw wore my skin – dozed with a lot of healthy melanin.”
    As the previous comment stated, most service sector employees work rotas and have a variety of duties, so do not be fooled simply by what you see. Furthermore, the service sector is the largest in the U.K, whereas the immigrant population is not, I noticed you spoke to “the one Ghanaian origin new slave”, but where is the democratic representation of the many many white slaves? Please be aware of your bias in future articles. Embrace ubuntu my friend, we are all one people, neurones of mother earth…

    Comment by Bob Marley — August 19, 2008 @ 11:21 am | Reply


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

